Mu Sigma All India Open Scrabble Tournament 2019

Mu Sigma, in association with Karnataka State Scrabble Association (KSSA), is proud to announce the Mu Sigma All India Open Scrabble Tournament 2019 to be held in Bangalore The details of the tournament are provided below:

Dates: June 28,29 and 30, 2019

Venue: 10th floor, Aviator building, MU Sigma, ITPL, Whitefield, Bangalore 560066, Karnataka, India

Tournament Divisions and Eligibility

A, B and C Divisions : The details of eligibility, entry fees and prize money for each division are provided below. The organizers reserve the right to club some divisions if registrations are inadequate for a particular division.

Eligibility :

A Division : SAI (Scrabble Association of India) rating above 1100 (for international participants who do not have a SAI rating, WESPA rating above 1100)

B Division : SAI rating between 601 – 1100  (For international participants WESPA rating 1100 or below)

C Division (unrated, or SAI rating of 600 and below )

Entry Fees:

The tournament is conducted by KSSA who will collect the entry fee. The association promotes competitive scrabble in Karnataka, in association with the Scrabble Association of India.

A Division : Rs. 2500 for SAI members, Rs. 2800 for others

B Division : Rs. 1500 for SAI members, Rs. 1800 for others

C Division : Entry fee: Rs. 1,000.

Late Registration: Please note payment is due at the time of registration. Payments received after June 15, 2019, will incur a Late Fee of Rs.500.

Entry fees are not refundable

Entry fee can be paid online to the following bank account:


Account name: Karnataka State Scrabble Association

Account number: 50100265175859

Type of account: Savings

IFSC code: HDFC0000133


Please mail your registrations to OR WhatsApp +919663312906

All Registrations must include the following:

  1. Please add MuSigma Registration to the Subject Line
  2. Name
  3. Email Id:
  4. Phone No:
  5. Whether SAI members:
  6. SAI Rating:
  7. Details of entry fee paid :


Divisions A, and B

Friday, June 28, 2019
8.30 – 9 am   : Registration
9.00 am – 9.30 am : Inauguration and draw.
9.30 am   : Commencement of First Game

Eight/nine games to be played each day, Games will start at 8 am on subsequent days

Division C

Saturday June 29, 2019

8.30 – 9 am : Registration
9.00 am – 9.30 am   : Inauguration and draw.
9.30 am : Commencement of First Game

Eight/nine games to be played during the day.

Games will start at 8am on June 30

The tournament will end at 4 pm for all Divisions on June 30.

Prize distribution for all Divisions between 4.30 – 5 pm.

Breakfast, lunch and snacks will be provided on all three days of the tournament.


A DivisionB DivisionC Division
1st prize Rs. 50,0001st prize Rs. 30,0001st prize Rs. 6,000
2nd prize Rs. 40,0002nd prize Rs. 20,0002nd prize Rs. 5,000
3rd prize Rs. 30,0003rd prize Rs. 15,0003rd prize Rs. 4,000
4th prize Rs. 20,0004th prize Rs. 10,0004th prize Rs. 3,000
5th prize Rs. 15,0005th prize Rs. 8,0005th prize Rs. 2,000
6th prize Rs. 12,0006th prize Rs. 5,000
7th prize Rs. 10,0007th prize Rs. 3,000
8th prize Rs. 8,000

9th prize Rs. 6,000

10th prize Rs. 5,000

A and B Divisions will have three ratings band prizes of Rs.2,000 each (slab to be announced later)

There would be several more special prizes including bingo prizes and spot prizes for all three divisions.

Please note that prize money is subject to tax deduction at source as applicable.

Tournament Format:

  1. SAI and WESPA rated
  2. Draw
    1. A and B : first 16 Australian lagged draws, last 8 KOTH
    2. C: first 9 games Australian lagged draws, last 6 KOTH
  3. Duration and No of games:
    A and B divisions: A maximum of 24 games of 50 minutes each will be played over three days.
  4. C division: A maximum of 15 games of 50 minutes each will be played over two days – June 29, 30.
  5. Word source will be the latest Collins Scrabble Tournament and Club Word List CWS 2019
  6. Challenge: 5-point penalty per word, the player does not lose a turn.

To Collect Prize Money:

Winners have to furnish the following details as the prize money will be transferred directly to their bank account:
1. Name of the Bank
2. Account Number
3. Name of the beneficiary
4. Bank swift code for wire transfer
5. Email address
6. Postal address
7. Telephone number
8. PAN Number